2nd Workshop on 5G Technologies for Tactical and First Responder Networks


Monday, Oct. 7, 2019
Time: 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
11100 Johns Hopkins Road, Laurel, Maryland 20723-6099
Parsons Auditorium (Lobby 1) - Campus Map and Directions



Based on the success and feedback from the attendees of 2018 Workshop on 5G Technologies for First Responder and Tactical Networks, importance and timeliness of this subject, JHU/APL is teaming up with IEEE Future Networks Initiative to organize this event in a much larger scale on October 7, 2019 at JHU/APL campus in Laurel, Maryland for the second time.

Today, several standards organizations and forums, namely IEEE, 3GPP, and ITU, are working on defining the architecture and standardizing various aspects of 5G technologies. However, little has been studied to explore how 5G technologies can be useful to tactical and first responder networks. It is important to investigate how tactical and first responder communities can take advantage of 5G technologies to support massive bandwidth, massive sensing, and massive control type applications.

The 2019 workshop is scheduled to take place on Monday, October 7 at JHU/APL campus's Kossiakoff Center in Laurel, Maryland. This year's workshop will include plenary keynote talks, invited talks, exhibits, demos, panels and multiple parallel tracks covering mmWave, MIMO, Security, eHealth, Edge Automation, Systems Optimization, Applications, Testbed, Satellite, and Hardware. This workshop will also provide opportunities for sponsorships and exhibits. There will be ample oportunity to network with the industry professionals, researchers from R&D labs and universities, academics, government and regulators.
If you have any question about this workshop regarding speaking opportunity or sponsorship, and exhibits oportunity, please feel free to reach out to Ashutosh Dutta at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call at 908-642-8593.