Future Networks Testbed Requirements, Challenges and Opportunities

Testbed Workshop Banner 

Virtual || 16-17 December 2021

Register Here


Submit Speaking Proposals today:

  • Please create an account at EDAS.info if you do not have an account.
  • Deadline: 30 November 2021

submit proposal button

For questions or more information, please email Ashutosh Dutta at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Speaking proposals are sought for a Virtual Workshop on Testbed for Future Networks, hosted by IEEE Future Networks Initiative, International Network Generations Roadmap (INGR). The virtual event will take place on December 16th and 17th, 2021. The deadline for speaking proposals is November 30th, 2021 and acceptance notifications will be distributed no later than December 6th, 2021.



Testbeds are a critical part of network generation evolution and complements the standards that are developed. Use cases are facilitated with a number of Physical layer innovations with mmWave, mMIMO along with other layers of OSI. Given the increased complexity of the next generation of communication systems and skyrocketing development costs, the importance of publicly available testbeds is quickly becoming critical for researchers and developers to get access to state-of-the-art infrastructure in order to prototype and validate their ideas. Lessons learnt from various experiments help to ratify the standards. Testbeds also help as a catalyst for deployment of advanced wireless systems. Hence, it is essential to have experimental testbeds where functional and end-to-end testing can be performed. This workshop will explore the diversity requirements, the challenges and enabling techniques towards the development of scalable testbed facilities for future networks to provide a standardised approach and best practices for collaboration. Such a unified collaboration approach will pave the way for efficient utilization of resources by providing ‘Testbed as a Service’ to the research and vendor community to accelerate technological development of future networks.

This workshop invites speaking proposals from the wider research community (including 6G and Beyond, Internet of Space Things, Internet of Medical Things, Underwater Internet, Internet of Underground Things, Internet of Battlefield Things, UAV, multi-robot and vehicular networks, Industry 4.0, Metaverse Technologies, among others) to focus on following includes but not limited to:

This workshop invites contribution from the wider research community to focus on following includes but not limited to:

  • Vision/Evolution & revolution for future network testbeds
  • Use case scenarios for future network testbeds
  • Distributed/global (context/thresholding) of testbed development facilitation of compliance testing
  • Interoperability/co-existence/inter-programmability among the testbeds
  • Standard/pre-standard (e.g. ONAP/ORAN) testbed models
  • Extendable architecture with the testbed
  • Accessibility/multi-operability for future network testbeds
  • Domain specific KPI mapping for future network testbeds
  • Interface/protocol development for future network testbeds
  • Technology agnostics testbed definition and experimental set-up
  • Performance measurement blocks towards standardization
  • Reliability assessment for given use cases at different scale
  • Plug & play nature within a testbed
  • PoC development, test & evaluation for future network testbeds
  • Recommended practice to run an experiment within the testbed for future generation of networks
  • Business models for ‘Testbed-as-a-Service/Lab-as-a-Service’ for future networks
  • Networked Robotic Testbeds


Call for Speaking Proposals

Speaking Proposal Submission Deadline: 19 November 2021 (2 Page Max)
Acceptance Notification: 26 November 2021

Each proposal (maximum 2 pages) must include:

  • Title and Abstract
  • A short biography (no more than 200 words) of each speaker
  • An explanation of the motivation, background, objective, description of the challenges to be covered, relevance, and timeliness

The proposal will be reviewed based on its relevance, the topic’s importance to the workshop, and the diversity it offers in terms of the problem definition, proposed solution, and/or evaluation approach.

Please submit your speaking proposal at the EDAS website. Please create an account in EDAS (edas.info) if you do not have one


Submit Speaking Proposals today!

  • Please create an account at EDAS.info if you do not have an account.
  • Deadline: 30 November 2021

*Please create an account at EDAS.info if you do not have any account.


Register Here